top of page

Compress Group - Achievement

Today, I was given the task and responsibility to take the compress group in their training. This is a 2 hour coaching session for the full time players who are looking to go pro. This for me, was quite an achievement as it shows that they respect what me and that they value my coaching. For this it was part of my projects as you can see in the photo below and also in the projects section. I have to do lessons plans for each session. I have done two so far as you can see below. Today, It went pretty well, everyone enjoyed the lesson and got a lot out of it. I communicated with my supervisor on what she thought about it and said that I will be doing them from now on!! I have a great relationship with my supervisor the communication in the business as a whole is very good, you can go and speak to anyone about a problem the door is always open and it is a very comfortable environment.

Once the compress group had finished it was time to take the academy players from 2-6. 4 hours is a long time but as I am getting used to it, know what is allowed, what isn't and also that if you plan in your head what you want to do the time goes quicker and also the children get a lot more out of it. A problem however, which is something which I would maybe alter only very slightly is that each court is a certain level. This can cause rifts and jealousy between players if they are put on a different court due to numbers. However, I believe it is good to put stronger players against weaker players on occasion. This is something I would alter by mixing the courts up on occasion for an hour or so. This however, does not say putting the 6 year old with 17 year old players. But mixing the top 2 courts. One aspect of the business which I admire is that players can come as they please, if they would like to come half an hour early there are sofa's they can watch TV on or if there is a spare court they can play with their friends whilst waiting with no charge. I like this type of environment as it attracts kids to come and play tennis and engage in physical activity.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic

Lakeland Academy of Tennis 

bottom of page