top of page

10 on a court

Today, I started with Jeadan again on speed and agility followed by yoga. Some people may think yoga isn't beneficial to tennis players however it helps with flexibility which is key to any sport, as this also helps prevent injury, also helps you wit your breathing. During a tennis match you need to be able to stay calm and control your breathing. Andy Murray and Djokovic are known for being fans of yoga. After this we hit and played points against Thomas, Maddie and Jeadan. Today we focused on waiting for the right ball to come and not being impatient trying to hit a winner off a risky shot.

After lunch academy started at 2pm. Today I had the younger children, and I had a lot of them. I had 10 kids on a court which is difficult to manage as you want to be able to keep them moving all the time and also keep them engaged in what is going on. This was learning point for me as I have never had so many younger players on court before and so you are limited to what you can do. I focused on doing a lot of team points, boys vs girls, or rotating partners of in and out points. I try to keep it competitive and this keeps them engaged. I also learnt a new game called king of the court. This was also popular amongst the players. It was also very hot today, so ensuring that they were talking little but often breaks and taking plenty of water.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic

Lakeland Academy of Tennis 

bottom of page